A casa–another temporary home

by Laura A

View from our friends' balcony of the sunrise over the Collina (little hill)

This weekend we moved into our fifth temporary home, the apartment of some homeschooling friends from New York who moved here just a couple of months before we did.  (Pause to consider:  What are the chances of another homeschooling family from New York moving to Torino ever??)  They live just a few blocks from the photo I posted earlier as one of my favorite parts of the city. They are in Sardinia right now, and I’m very happy to be back in town!  Immigrants need to live where they’ll always have interaction with other people.

As Sarie and I plopped exhaustedly into a cab after dragging the last of the 50 pound suitcases down the stairs on Friday night, she mused, “You know, by the time we get into our own apartment, we will have moved seven times.”  I hadn’t stopped to count, perhaps for good reason.

But this move back into town for two weeks was voluntary, and it has been a very nice one.  We hope to sign a contract on an apartment this week, and move in by November 1, so there’s lots of business to do.  (The other apartment were negotiating fell through.) Meanwhile, I’m looking at the IKEA catalog to see how cheaply and yet attractively I can furnish a kitchen. I really like what my Brooklyn friend has done with her Udden kitchen:

This family also has some nice views from their balconies.  If you look far down this street where the tiny steeple is, that’s the block where our hopeful apartment is.  It’s a ten minute walk from this apartment.


View from the balcony in the other direction: the Alps

It’s seven-twenty a.m., just getting light. Bob has just left for a day in Milan. There’s a moka pot with coffee on the stove.  Church bells were ringing just a few minutes ago and through the wide-open windows in the kitchen, and I’m starting to hear people leave for work. If I go stand out on the fifth-floor balcony in the bedroom, I can see people getting on buses and trams, and the sun coming up over the big hill. In the other direction are the Alps (you can see them today!).  People in California, Oregon and Washington are just going to bed.

It’s nice to be here.

