Esperienza Italia

by Laura A

One of my favorite things about New York City was that I never knew what I was going to find when I went out the door.  I’m happy to report that I can say the same thing about Torino.

Yesterday Sarie and I went out for a walk about town.  We were walking back home through the elegant Piazza San Carlo, and found this group of old men performing traditional folk tunes, right by the entrance to our bank.  They were surrounded by a crowd of Italians, almost all of whom were in their seventies, and some of whom looked almost misty-eyed, or at least intent.  One woman was doing some dance steps from time to time.

The man in the suit and ascot is the leader and vocalist. But note the guy off to the far right, in the tan sweater.

Tan sweater man goes from bystander to guitarist to cheerleader.  He also had a bottle of wine, corked and lying on its side, that he would occasionally take a swig from.  But not too often, as Italians are not fond of drunkenness.  I think his enthusiasm was more driven by the music, which as Sarie points out, was quite good.  I wish I could share some of it with you, but alas, I don’t even know the name of the group.  I’ll have to go back and listen some more, and perhaps find out.  But if you watch Pane and Tulipani, you’ll get the general idea.

The man in the ascot, when Sarie took the picture, was singing directly to the woman next to us.  She had black curled hair and was wearing heels and big plastic drop earrings.  At one point, he stopped singing and started talking to her, and she responded quite comfortably.

Above the men’s heads is an ad that reads: “Esperienza Italia.”

