Christmas serendipity

by Laura A

Michelangelo Buonarroti Madonna con il Bambino/Madonna and Child/ Vierge à l’Enfant 1525 circa/c.1525/1525 environ matita nera, matita rossa, biacca e inchiostro/black chalk, red chalk, white lead, pen and ink/ crayon noir, crayon rouge, céruse et encre Firenze/Florence, Casa Buonarroti

I went to see this drawing yesterday at the Palazzo Madama (Queen Mothers’ palace). The only thing separating this drawing from the busiest piazza in Torino was a double velvet curtain.  You could just walk in for free and look at it, even take photos of it.  Wow!

I’ve long admired this drawing, which is on loan from the Casa Buonarroti in Florence.  Affinity for Michelangelo is one of the main reasons I liked to draw as a child.  And as with so many other works of art, it looks much more alive in person.  The Christ Child really pops out of the background, brought to life with sepia and white chalk.  A commentary I found on You Tube says the Madonna looking away suggests the suffering she knows will result from bearing the Christ Child.

While I was at it, I went ahead and bought a year’s subscription to the city’s museums.  It’s good for the castles around the city, too.  And Sarie can still go for free to most museums for one more year.  I really look forward to getting out of moving mode and really living in this city once we return from our Christmas trip.

I hope to do another post this afternoon, but if I don’t have time, Merry Christmas!  We have reason to be merry.  Christ has dealt with the one thing that could truly harm us. Suffering remains, but he is with us.

