Luì piccolo

by Laura A

Common Chiffchaff, or luì piccolo.  Image from Wikipedia Commons.

Common Chiffchaff, or luì piccolo. Image from Wikipedia Commons.

Though the weather remains cold and cloudy, the willow trees outside our bedroom window have started to put out leaves this week.  This morning I looked out to see three of these tiny birds hovering and feeding among the new buds and leaves.  Having identified a lot of US warblers, I thought I could quickly memorize their markings, but when I went to look in my bird guide, there were a million warblers that looked like this!  But mercifully, one came back, and even sang.  The returning warbler enabled me to get a better look and make an identification.

He’s actually one of the more common European birds, but not too many of them come into the parking lot between our building and the one next door. And there will be even fewer next week when the workers start renovating the exterior of our building. So this morning’s appearance was a real treat!

May your day, wherever you are, contain a bit of serendipity, a luì piccolo of one sort or the other.

